Frozen Fog

by Matthew Roberts

One of the oddest fogs, almost frozen fog I’d dare say, we’ve had in Eugene in the while I’ve lived here. After class I chatted with the lady working the counter at Sy’s, she agreed just how odd it all was, and said something about how her face had caught a lining of frozen mist when she’d gone out earlier in the night. Even ended up (incidentally) discovering that she’d been at school for as long as I, after I said off-hand how it’d been several years since the last good frozen fog; upon that prompt, she mentioned how she remembered days of walking through frozen fog in below 20 degree F weather her first winter. And do I ever remember that winter, when I rode the blocks across campus to my last fall-term final in PLC 180 through frozen fog, without gloves. I can still feel the ache of the minutes of throbbing, defrosting hands I had to endure after that before I could actually take the test.

It happened to be very good pizza tonight.

